the nights are the days

I am now 3 1/2 days into my last week as an underage tweener.  How ’bout them apples?  I guess now is as good a time as any to update the internet on my life.

Summer was alternatively hellish and wonderful without a lot of variety in between.  After spending two days in my tiny prison-esque home of Boomer, I moved in with my friend Callie who is wonderful and also had a spare bedroom and no roommates to keep her company.  This, it turned out, was an absolutely wonderful idea.  I never would’ve survived the summer living where I started living.  Goodness.

My work consisted of six weeks of thirteen hour rehearsal days.  I really enjoyed the first show: my director was phenomenal and the cast was wonderfully cohesive.  The second show was incredibly stressful, frustrating, and exhausting.  I was working with a director I had worked with before (which is why I requested working on another show), and he was even  more neurotic and condescending than usual.  About half of the cast was hardworking and well-organized.  The other half was incompetent, inefficient, and disrespectful of the rest of the company.  I even had an incompetent designer.  It was a hot mess and I came home from work everyday of my last two weeks crying.

And keep in mind I had life stuff happening while all of this was going on.

In short, I’m pleased as punch that my last summer with this particular theatre is over, and more eager than ever to have a ‘real’ theatre job next summer.

But now that all of that is over, I am once again unemployed, broke, and stuck in BTown.  I’ve been trying to figure out how I can pick up some extra income during the school year and am coming up empty-handed as always.  I’m thinking about applying for odd hours at the Carbondale Library and hoping that my tutoring job will actually pay me this coming semester.  I’m not really sure either of those things are going to happen.  But I did manage to scrounge up two hundred dollars that I’m setting aside for rent in Chicago, and I’m hoping that I’ll find a way to add to that sum throughout the coming year.  Because I really don’t want my parents having to pay for my first month’s rent as a bonafide adult.  Though, naturally, it’ll probably happen anyway.  Oy vay.

I’m heading up to Chicago Saturday night.  Once again I am escaping away to avoid my family and the turmoil that ensues when I see them on my birthday (though my da is in for surgery or a doctor’s visit or something on Thursday; fingers crossed and thumbs tucked that he’ll be okay by Saturday).  I have no idea what the plan is birthday-wise, but it should be pretty fun considering the company and stuff.  Any time with Paige is a good time.  Except that one time.  But we don’t talk about that.

Yep.  That’s about it.

Leave a Reply

