i need to sort out my head

My first day away from school.  I am going vaguely crazy from the mess that is my brother’s apartment.  I’ve watched a lot of needless television.  This is very, very strange.

I’ve decided that I’m going to think about transferring.  I talked to my mum last night on the phone and she went ballistic when I brought up the possibility of transferring.  I’m pretty sure this is only because school is paid for down south, which is infuriating.  I am beyond frustrated with her right now.

Regardless, I’ve got three schools on my list.  If my parents aren’t willing to help me financially speaking, I’ve got to keep an eye on expenses.  So right now, I’m focusing on UIC and ISU.  I’m thinking of Chicago State, too, but I don’t think they have any sort of theatre programme.  It would be the best for expenses, but I don’t know how many of my credits would transfer.  Damn damn damn.

So I’m going to send in my UIC application as soon as I get a printer (the online application was ridiculously confusing; I think I might have screwed something up on it).  It’s a forty dollar fee to apply, but I think I’ve got that much in my checking account.  If I can get Mum to talk to me again, I’ll see if she can find a way for me to waive the fee on the ISU app.  Let’s see how this goes.

Meanwhile, I have a couple of papers I need to write and then send in to my teachers.  I’m having a hard time convincing myself to write them.  

I’m heading back down south Wednesday.  I really hope I don’t go crazy by then.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Sneemus
    Oct 21, 2008 @ 21:22:43

    Well, you’ve lasted this long. Going insane now would be a bit of a waste.

    Man, fuck money. While I acknowledge having loans will suck (and I have so very many of them that I should know), being miserable and eventually kissing the concrete 16 stories below will suck *a lot more*. Besides, you’re a scholarship’s wet dream. Just keep up your grades and get good references. I can point you to some places to try publishing short stories/articles, if you need some extra resume pimpage. Also, even if you can’t get a theatre cred to transfer as a Liberal Study-type field you can probably get them filed as Extra Crap Credits which most majors need a certain amount of anyway. Journalism wouldn’t let me slide in most of my playwriting classes as anything but electives– however, I now don’t need to take any more electives and am no farther behind than another other journalist. So, yay for me. And transferring.

    Lemme know if you need help. Why, oh, why are you staying in Justin’s apartment? Have you come across any new life forms growing in the laundry hamper?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

