you’re looking skinny like a model

In two days, I will be in Chicago.  I very well may pee myself.

I’ve discovered this wonderful anomaly.  I’ve already started working on a show for next semester, A Raisin in the Sun.  Once again, I’m working with Segun.  It’s good for me to work with him.  He’s horribly disorganised as a teacher, but he cares so much about theatre and working on a show with him is wonderful.  This means that I’m spending even more time with him than usual.  Since we are working on an African American classic, the fact that I am a honky is even more obvious than usual (and considering how obvious it usually is, this makes it even more enjoyable of an experience).  I’ve noticed this trend where every time someone brings up an artist of colour (Shuggie Otis, Etta James, Bob Marley) and I get excited (OMG I HEART THEM!), Segun looks both surprised and amused.  I’ve explained to him on several occasions that it is possible for white girls like me to discover Black artists, but he gets so many damn kicks over it that I’m not inclined to consider being offended.  Although I may have to start rapping Eazy-E lyrics at him or tuck Outkast albums under his door if this continues.

And it was at this point in time that Kiri thanked those friends who introduced her to such artists.

I did this really awesome thing today where I threw out my lower back.  This is causing some definite discomfort for me and I’m quickly becoming tired of it.  So much for doing crunches everyday again.  Regardless, I bought a heating pad for the sake of my sanity and have been using it pretty liberally for the past few hours.  I think a hot shower and Auntie Mo’s cooling cream is in pretty swift order.  I just hope it eases up by the time I have to sit on a train for six+ hours.

Which is SOOOOOON!!!  Thank goodness.

This whole ‘dating’ thing is weird.  I’m not sure how I feel about it yet.  I’m not even sure if I’m even doing it yet.  I’ll write more on that later.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Christie-Bonnie
    Oct 14, 2008 @ 12:37:58

    Darling,
    Ice your back. Don’t heat it. Heat is for muscles, ice is for bone-displacement. Otherwise it makes the inflammation worse.

    *heart*

    Reply

  2. erik
    Oct 14, 2008 @ 16:17:04

    better call me, kiri. there may be a theraputic back rub in it for you.

    oh, and, just for your information:

    well, i’m eazy e, i got bitches galore.
    you might have a lotta bitches, but i got much more.

    Reply

  3. Asbjorn
    Oct 15, 2008 @ 04:30:08

    Have fun in Chicago, we certainly did. Give my daughter a hug when/if you see her. It’s gonna be a lil cooler the end of the week. I do not like that reversed out racism stuff, but it is understandable. In jazz it is much much worse, but, there you go. Bye for now. Does the man really have that many female dogs???

    Reply

Leave a Reply

